Apricot MultiMedia Presents:

Dan Sullivan - Entertainer    


Sullivan Sings: Nat "King" Cole

Original show In January, 2004

All New Show & CD in March, 2010

    This show features Mark Winner on piano, Shane Sullivan on Drums and I added the rest (vocals, bass & guitars). When I asked Marks father, Jerry, if he would record with us, he began rehearsing three hours a day to get in shape! I am so honored to have worked with him if only briefly. He played with Louie Bellson, Tommy Dorsey, Glen Miller, Louie Armstrong, Raymond Scott, of course Nat "King" Cole, and many others. 

    Nat "King" Cole was a pioneer. He was one of many terrific black entertainers to come up through the 20th century. When talent transcends prejudice, you can change the world and he did. After the opening song, On The Street Where You Live, the show is pretty much chronological, taking us through the 30s, 40s, 50s, and 60s.

    Nathaniel Adams Coles (with an "s" which he later dropped)  was born March 17, 1919, in Montgomery, Alabama. His father, Edward, was offered a pastoral position in Chicago so the family moved north. Nat was four years old at the time. He would stand in front of the radio with a ruler and conduct the orchestra. They say he could play a mean Yes, We Have No Banana's on the piano. His mother was his first teacher and formal lessons would begin at age twelve. Rumor has it a drunk requested he sing Sweet Lorraine which changed his career. He was known as the man with the voice of velvet. So smooth.

The Song List:

1.     On The Street Where You Live

2.     Yes Sir, Thatís My Baby (adding Jerry Winner on clarinet)

3.     Itís Only A Paper Moon

4.     Sweet Lorraine

5.     (I Love You) For Sentimental Reasons

6.     Besame Mucho

7.     For All We Know

8.     Almost Like Being In Love

9.     Somewhere Along The Way

10.   Too Young

11.   Walkiní My Baby Back Home

12.   Unforgettable

13.   Answer Me My Love

14.   Autumn Leaves

15.  Rambling Rose

16.  That Sunday That Summer

17.  L-O-V-E

18.  Sweet Georgia Brown (Jerry Winner, Clarinet, Mark Winner, Piano, Shane Sullivan, Drums, D.S. Bass) 

18. Closing with a special tribute to our veterans and God Bless America



Return to Shows List (Table Of Contents)  |  Booking Information  |  Return To Home Page